Top Ten Tuesday: 2023 Books I Didn’t Get To

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt is Books I Meant to Read in 2023 but Didn’t Get To. Even though I read a lot, there are always too many books being published to read everything. For this prompt, I’m going to focus on 2023 releases I didn’t have a chance to read.

The Family Fortuna by Lindsay Eagar: I really love Lindsay’s middle grade book, Race to the Bottom of the Sea, so I’m curious about her YA debut. I just didn’t have a chance to read it when it first came out.

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros: So many people have told me to read this, and I wanted to but I found out it was going to be a series and then found it out it’s going to be a 5-book series and now I’m not sure if I want to just read it and suffer from cliffhanger endings or wait for all five books. (At the rate she’s publishing them, it might not be that long of a wait…)

Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson: I have yet to read a Sanderson book and this one sounds so good and I heard you don’t have to read his other books to understand it.

Come See the Fair by Gavriel Savit: I really enjoyed Gavriel’s other books, but this one slipped under my radar and I forgot it came out.

Isle of the Gods by Amie Kaufman: I have a friend who really wants me to read this, but I’m waiting for book two to release before I dive in.

Grumbones by Jenn Bennett: I’m so curious to read a middle grade book by Jenn Bennett, but it wasn’t a high priority book last year.

Rook by William Ritter: I love the Jackaby series so I’m intrigued by a new book in the series. I just didn’t have a chance to pick it up yet!

The Memory Thieves by Dhonielle Clayton: I read The Marvellers in 2022 and thought it was a fun middle grade book, but for some reason I thought there was a third book coming so I was going to wait to read The Memory Thieves. Now, I’m not sure. I’ve heard the audiobooks are great, though, so I might reread book one and read book two that way.

The Narrow Road Between Desires by Patrick Rothfuss: I am both excited and disappointed for this book. Mainly because while I’m glad Pat is FINALLY publishing something, I want that something to be book three, not another novella. *sigh*

Our Cursed Love by Julie Abe: This book had such a late 2023 release date that I just didn’t get to reading it yet.

What 2023 releases do you still need to read? Don’t forget to join the link-up!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2023 Books I Didn’t Get To

  1. I didn’t know Fourth Wing was going to be a 5-book series, I assumed it’d be a trilogy. Fair point though, it’s hard for me to wait between books too, and then I end up forgetting the first books by the time the next ones come out. I don’t regret reading the first two sooner rather than later though!

    Haze @ The Book Haze
    https://thebookhaze.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Goodreads says that it’s expected to be a 5-book series, but it also doesn’t have a listing for book three yet and I heard that’s out fairly soon, so who knows?

      And while sometimes I want to reread a book before reading the latest installment, that’s not the case for every series. Maybe I’ll enjoy Fourth Wing enough to reread it!

      Like

  2. I think I might pick up Rook this year—I enjoyed the Jackaby series last year, but I wasn’t ready for another book in that universe when I finished the official Jackaby series. I might be ready in 2024 though. 🙂 And Tress of the Emerald Sea looks good! I got a copy for Christmas, so I’m planning to read it soon too. (Also, yes, I also heard that while there are Easter eggs for Sanderson fans, you don’t need to have read any of his other works to enjoy this one.)

    Here’s my TTT this week. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tress of the Emerald Sea is one that I need to get to too. Fourth Wing is good but Iron Flame was a hot mess. She’s not going to be releasing them that quick anymore because of her health. Maybe wait for book three to come out and see what people think! Regardless, I hope you enjoy everything you read!

    My Top Ten!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment